your kisses

blue mist of the Pleiades…

release the clasp

on this necklace of cares

and let it fall

~

this thought

curved to shape

a seagull’s wings

filled with light

and bound for you

~

when your light found me

I was a butterfly

trapped in a net…

just enough for you to see

I cast a mesh of colours

~

she persuades me

to look past the rain

where finches bloom

on the bare boughs

of the cherry

~

out of the blue

the Mona Lisa smile

of a day moon…

the never say never

of falling in love again

~

tonight

I am the first thin slice

of this honeydew moon

the cat’s  lovelorn cry

a clock of counted stars

~

spring

emptying her pockets

of birdsong…

I can give you no less

than all of me

~

moon shadows

I trade my cares for dreams

gather them up

in a deer-skin pouch,

draw tight the heartstrings

~

first milk…

folding back the red silk sheet

of sunrise,

in the last drops of moonlight,

the blue-white curve of her breast

~

on the boughs

where sycamore seeds

hung their wings

new buds at first light…

how she reminds me of you

~

dove on the bough

pushed by the rain-strewn wind…

hair fanned gold

swinging on the garden seat,

a memory of summer

~

 

Leave a Reply

