you and I. .

a meadow pipit rises

on two notes

holds our breath, then sets us down

our hearts stained with sky

~

the day begins

with a sky as blue

as your eyes. . .

a fledgling with memory

tucked under its wing

For Ellie on her birthday

~

footprints

filling with salt-water…

on love’s nowhere shores

the compass of my heart

still points to you

~

lark shadows sweep

the dew-starred heather…

I am lost

moments before you wake

in the dreamscape of your face

~

is this the love song

of the stones or the stream?

do not toil

to know the shape of my words

let them sound in your heart

~

paper scrolls

wrapped around the heartwood

somewhere

in pine-scented shade

my tree of songs for you

~

mist on the mirror

this path we walk…

my fingers trace

a memory of bluebells

and wild garlic

~

in a blue dress

blowing dandelion clocks,

summer sky…

we pick cotton daydreams

from passing clouds

~

in sumi-e ink

the flow of a moment

scarlet and black

two woodpeckers

and a clean sheet of sky

~

how the house creaks

catching its breath on silence

as night

smooths your pillow and tucks in

the shape of your absence

~

you always said

I was too sensitive

for this world…

through the cracks in the pavement

wild violets

~

my life is the coat

I hang at the gateway

to the hawthorn lane…

at my feet, a robin

pecking at crumbs

~

morning twilight

in a lion wind

Parvati dances alone

a dozen starlings

on each arm

~

Leave a Reply

