…from dawn until dusk

 

 

I am delighted to be one of the contributing poets for Daily Haiku cycle 11 (2011). June 19th-25th inclusive marks my second week of haiku: http://www.dailyhaiku.org/haiku/2011-june-19

and my first week (May 8th-14th inclusive) can be accessed here:

http://www.dailyhaiku.org/haiku/2011-may-08

I’m honoured to be part of the spring/summer team.

In the next few weeks, I hope to add a page to this blog, to collect some of my haiku – something I’ve been meaning to do for some time….but it’s been a bit of a tough year.

Thank you to all who continue to share my tanka (and haiku) journey!

Claire

~

while you are sleeping. .

stars dim on the gate of dawn

ruby and gold

the honeysuckle stirs

with a blackbird’s song

For Amy (winner of the Kids Count for Earth Day haiku competition, sponsored by the HSA). Read her poem here : http://area17.blogspot.com/2011/06/2011-kids-count-for-earthday-haiku.html )

 

~

a moment

tailored for lovers…

evening swallows

and a bolt

of silk

~

wild horses

won’t stop me

he says —

closing the gate

after love has bolted

~

motherly

the curves of the guitar

in shadow. . .

look beyond these broken strings

I’m still filled with your song

~

the tenderloin bleeds

on a marble slab. .

a fine cabernet

while the pan gets hot and you

take a mallet to my heart

~

where the branch

reaches across the lake…

after the rain

three swallows dry

the ink of their wings

~

swooping

from dawn until dusk

eating on the wing…

still no rest

clinging to a wall of dreams

~

the baying of hounds

in the next life…

bristling

does my son remember

this wish to be a fox ?

~

sky-bright

the blue of forget-me-nots

when the crow lifts…

and a butterfly

out-dancing its shadow

~

Leave a Reply

