the quiet of my heart

by Paul Smith & Claire Everett

(An impromptu response tanka set composed on Facebook)

the sky looked on
as the lilac bloomed
and in the quiet
of my heart
I could taste its longing

elbow-deep
in this dishwater day. . .
scent of lilacs
I stand a goddess
in a river of stars

river of stars –
how many times
must a heart
be hurt
before it fully blooms?

sweet weight
the ache of blossoms
must I
bear so much
knowing it will end?

a eulogy
written in the sky –
is it only the wind
that knows
which way to go?

rain-jewelled
these pale blonde grasses …
life passes by
a shadow
in the wind

July 6th 2011

*’the quiet of my heart’  is a working title.

Paul Smith is the award-winning English poet who first noticed my work on Twitter when I tentatively started to write haiku and tanka last year. He continued to support and encourage me (and others) to take the first steps towards publication and I thank him for his  friendship and inspiration. From time to time we have ‘jammed ‘ some tanka on Twitter, this was our first Facebook ‘set’.

If you haven’t discovered Paul’s blog, I suggest you do 😉 :

http://tanka-papermoon.blogspot.com/

Claire

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kirigirisu
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 13:45:22

    Claire & Paul,

    Pitch perfect. Your voices harmonize beautifully.

    I am delighted to find your blog, Claire, and indebted to Paul for bringing attention to it.

    Brian

    Reply

    • Claire
      Jul 14, 2011 @ 14:24:00

      Thank you, Brian. It’s so lovely to hear from you! I really appreciate you stopping by…I’m grateful to Paul for helping me to believe in myself and for introducing me to response tanka in those early days. What better way to stretch my wings?…
      I hope life is treating you well 🙂
      Claire

      Reply

  2. chicosunny
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 23:15:42

    Dear Claire

    These painfully beautiful lines resonate with the softest part of my heart. Truly appreciated.

    Best,
    Chico

    Reply

  3. Janet
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 16:52:40

    Hi, Claire. You don’t know me, but I enjoyed reading this. Agree, about the voices harmonizing!

    Have read Paul’s beautiful work many times over the past few years. And have recently been coming across a number of your poems here and there in online pubs. Keep up the excellent work!

    I think your 2nd tanka here is particularly good: “elbow-deep / in this dishwater day. . .”

    Reply

  4. Renée
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 08:26:13

    a beautiful poetic conversation and I discover a new lovely blog!
    Greetings to Claire and Paul and thank you for those flowers in the wind!!
    Renée

    Reply

  5. Claire
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 09:15:11

    Renee, Janet, Chico, Brian,
    Thank you all for your wonderful comments. Paul brings out the best in me poetically and I thank him always for his generosity and inspiration.
    I’m so glad you have all found my blog.
    Blessings to you all.
    Claire

    Reply

Leave a Reply

