until, my love….

 

until, my love

our days have the ink

of autumn

drying in their veins…

ten thousand leaves in the sun

~

dawn chorus

a head full of words

I shape my cheek

to the last page of a dream,

a pillow of tanka

~

I nursed you through

the aches and ills of childhood…

now this fever

and this mother’s arms

that will not break

3 tanka from SIMPLY HAIKU 8th Anniversary edition

http://simplyhaiku.theartofhaiku.com/summer-2011/simply-tanka.html

~

what of woman

if man’s reach should exceed

his grasp? . .

come harvest, I’ll stain my lips

with a blackberry moon

~

evensong…

a meandering path

of bluebells

a blackbird’s call

to prayer

Walla Crag,  Cumbria, 2011

~

cobwebs

to dry my tears

come the dawn

each prayer bead

fills with light

(for Svetlana and others who are very much in my thoughts)

~

the tracks

of your leaving…

moon~sifted snow

HONOURABLE MENTION

Haiku Pen 2011.

The Grand Prize went to my good friend, Paul Smith. You can read Paul’s beautiful poem and the other winners here:

http://lyricalpassionpoetry.yolasite.com/international-haiku-winners.php

(I’m still hoping to create a blog archive of my published and favourite haiku…you will find many in the archives of Simply Haiku, including 5 in the Summer issue above. I highly recommend this journal, not only for its poetry and featured poets, but also for the superb articles on Japanese aesthetics etc by Robert Wilson).

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jmbhatt
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 07:57:11

    Thanks for sharing such rich contents.

    Reply

    • Claire
      Jul 22, 2011 @ 14:37:20

      Brian and JM,
      I’m delighted my words meant so much to you. Brian, I take that as a huge compliment from a poet whom I admire and whose words have affected me so deeply on so many occasions. Thank you.

      Reply

  2. Kirigirisu
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 16:42:22

    until, my love

    our days have the ink

    of autumn

    drying in their veins…

    ten thousand leaves in the sun

    This is magnificent, Claire. The beauty of your imagery brought tears to my eyes. – Brian

    Reply

  3. Renée
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 07:30:39

    stillness and deepness in your poem(s)..!
    Renée

    Reply

Leave a Reply

