beyond this vanishing

 

 

in a cold blue sky

ripples of robin song–

each note takes me

deeper into loving you,

losing you

 

~

white roses

and fresh linen

neatly folded

even her letter

smells like home

 

Take Five Best Contemporary Tanka, volume 3, 2010

~

a hawk moth

passes the window —

I am haunted

by the ghosts of lives

I might have lived

 

Take Five Best Contemporary Tanka, volume 3, 2010

~

I thought you taught me

all I needed to know

about silence…

waxing with the moon

magnolia blooms

 

Bottle Rockets no 25 2011

~

edges blurred

the seasons of my heart…

today the willow

sheds yellow leaves

on yesterday’s perfect snow

 

Bottle Rockets no 25 2011

~

the sky so clear

I can see for miles…

I look hard

for your future

as they wash your blood

 

Ribbons, volume 7, number 2, summer 2011

~

morning rain

mist of breath on the lush shoots

of spring flowers…

time will have me be

no more and no less

 

Red Lights, volume 7, number 2, 2011

~

by candlelight

watching incense twist and curl

as shadow…

the double helix uncoils,

this illness passed down the line

 

Red Lights, volume 7, number 2, 2011

~

this is mother

the red beak-spot tells the chick —

so often now

imprinted on my mind

the face of a stranger

 

Red Lights, volume 7, number 2

~

Four haiku for Svetlana:

ten thousand leaves
whisper in the shale…
ebbing moon

 ~

the egret preens
as if to reach its heart. . .
autumn rain

~

red maple leaf…
still holding her heart
up to the sun

~

beyond
this vanishing. . .
the godwit’s light

 

~

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kirigirisu
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 14:15:51

    I have waited to respond to this selection of poems, Claire. I simply find myself overwhelmed by the richness of each. Only separate, lengthy comments could approach doing them justice and I can’t justify taking up that much space here.

    Suffice to say I have lived with all of them and been nourished and made to feel less alone in the world. – Brian

    Reply

    • Claire
      Sep 27, 2011 @ 20:13:46

      Brian,
      To have a poet whose work I admire appreciate my words in the way you do, is such a joy. To feel that a one as sensitive as you, ‘hears’ me in this way, makes me feel less alone, too.
      I uploaded rather too many poems at once, perhaps, but the weeks have been hard and hectic and I realised there were some gaps in the archives 🙂 Amy and I are working on Skimming the Water, too — I just need time to work on the blog entries.
      Thank you for being with me on this journey.
      Claire

      Reply

Leave a Reply

