A Crow’s Wing

 
paper moon…

no mind for poetry but

ah, the scent of leaves!

 

 

nothing but

a future of borrowed time…

autumn takes a leaf

out of the book

of sunset

 

 

my mood

turning on a crow’s wing…

autumn dusk

 

 

a segment of moon…

what we savoured, what we shared

bittersweet

 

an impromptu tanka sonnet, reflecting my mood this week and in honour of our dear Svetulya* and last night’s particularly beautiful waning moon.

*Hansha Teki, Svetlana Marisova’s close friend is curating  the personal blog she started in earnest. You will find the link in my blogroll. Keep the dream alive!

(incidentally, speaking of a ‘paper moon’, if you don’t know of Paul Smith’s blog…you’ll find a link to that in my blogroll, too. I wouldn’t quite be the poet I am today, if it wasn’t for Paul’s mentoring when I was a tanka fledgling!)

 

Claire

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paul Smith
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 15:00:19

    Blushing! I just happened to be near when you began to blossom… Nothing more.

    Reply

  2. kirigirisu
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 18:44:31

    Softly tender, Claire, beautifully crafted.

    I received the latest issue of “Gusts” yesterday and was struck by how unique your and Paul’s voices are, the gifts you both bring to English tanka. I am humbled.

    As for Svetlana’s blog, I was only able to make it through the first page before feeling overwhelmed. I’ll return to it but must sip slowly or it burns.

    Brian

    Reply

    • Claire
      Oct 20, 2011 @ 19:26:07

      Thank you, Brian. I haven’t received Gusts yet so had no idea I’d had any poems accepted, but it’s lovely to know mine and Paul’s voices speak to you in that way. I think it’s wonderful that Hansha is keeping Svetlana’s poetry alive. My daughter Amy won the grand prize in the HSA sponsored Earth Day haiku competition a few months ago and with it, a year’s subscription to ‘Frog Pond’ . I’ve never got round to subscribing, so it was a treat for me to ‘borrow’ it from her 😉 To see Svetlana’s haiku within the pages (I believe she never got to hear of its acceptance) brought chills…

      Claire

      Reply

  3. Paul Smith
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 09:42:49

    Good question…

    Let’s settle on a mutual blossoming then, as I imagine I have been as enriched by your humble presence as you have mine. (& Brian’s too – a wonderful, nourishing voice.)

    Reply

    • Claire
      Oct 21, 2011 @ 10:24:55

      I agree entirely, Paul and had the pleasure of reading some of Brian’s beautiful tanka this morning — Operation Take Five 😉 A certain cricket singing its heart out brought joy to this careworn heart. Thank you, kind sirs, for your continued inspiration, friendship and enrichment. This blossom does not forget her roots 🙂

      Reply

  4. Kay Tracy
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 23:55:12

    I must say. I am too awestruck for words. Thank you, Claire for writing. The three of you are so gifted. It is a pleasure to have these blogs to read. I can’t always get the anthologies, and rarely know of their existence, but oh, the wonders of this new form of publishing!

    ~Kay

    Reply

    • Claire
      Oct 22, 2011 @ 16:31:02

      Thanks Kay, the feedback from kindred souls is so valuable. It really is quite hard work keeping up with the various journals and much as I love to see print versions and feel the weight of poetry in my hands, I find the e-journals and blogs such a gift. These are, indeed, magical times. A deep bow to you, my friend.

      Claire

      Reply

  5. Margaret Dornaus
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 03:46:57

    Lovely, Claire . . . An interesting form, “the tanka sonnet” . . . can’t wait to try it. In the meantime, just came over to tell you how much I enjoyed your haiku in Chrysanthemum, and found this wonderful surprise of a post. I particularly like this verse:

    my mood
    turning on a crow’s wing…
    autumn dusk

    I can relate . . .

    Best, Margaret

    Reply

    • Claire
      Oct 22, 2011 @ 16:25:02

      Margaret,
      Thanks so much! I haven’t had time to sit down and savour Chrysanthemum just yet, but was delighted to have the opportunity of seeing one of my poems translated into German 🙂 I’ve experimented with a few tanka sonnets (since I read some by Denis Garrison, who I believe may have introduced the form) but recently, rather than setting out with a mind to write one, I’ve found certain combinations of haiku and tanka written over a period of days –especially when that mood is turning! — seem to work well together. I like the layers of meaning and resonance between individual poems. Glad this one worked for you 🙂

      All Best,
      Claire

      Reply

  6. Hansha Teki
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 01:51:01

    Claire,
    I have been doing more work on Svetulya’s blog over the last few days to coincide with Robert’s feature on her in Simply Haiku and her book collaboration with Ted van Zutphen due out on Sunday.
    I do believe that you are featured in Simply Haiku too 🙂 Congratulations.

    Hansha

    Reply

    • Claire
      Jan 14, 2012 @ 20:58:51

      Hansha,
      How lovely to see you here!

      I was delighted– and privileged — to read a ‘preview’ of Ted and Svetulya’s book. It is going to be a gift to the haiku community and is a wonderful opportunity for the ‘perfect marriage’ of their voices to reach a wider audience. Thank you, Hansha, for all your hard work in keeping Svetulya’s flame burning. Yes, I was honoured to learn I’m to be the featured haiku poet for the forthcoming issue of Simply Haiku. I treasure the email dear Svetulya sent me, shortly before her passing, saying how she had read a preview of Robert’s interview and his selection of my poems. I follow, humbly, in her footsteps.

      Best Wishes, my friend and good luck with the book launch.

      Claire

      Reply

Leave a Reply

