touchdown

 

touchdown

a poem from a friend

with dawn on its wings…

a heron unfolds

from my inbox

 

~

 

damselflies mend

a moment’s broken seam

how delicate

these blue pins of sadness

silent masters of the flame

 

~

 

what you mean to me…

a solitary swift

finds a window of blue

and the sky tilts

on its axis

 

3 of my tanka from GUSTS (Tanka Canada) No 14, fall/winter 2011

 

~

nodding sunflowers …                                                  nickende Sonnenblumen …

Grandma opens her eyes                                            Oma offnet die Augen

to dreams                                                                          den Traumen

 

Chrysanthemum, autumn 2011

 

~

 

spaghetti sauce —

we meet each other

half way

 

Honourable Mention,

International Senryu competition 2011

Lyrical Passion Poetry e-zine

 

 

 

~

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kirigirisu
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 15:35:30

    Loved ’em there (“Gusts”) love ’em here.

    The grandmother poem is so full of love and homage and respect for what has been seen and lived as life weighs-down to its close.

    The senryu harbours “the way it is” when it comes to how we “make-up” and mend.

    You are so good, Claire. Robert Wilson was right.about you.

    Reply

    • Claire
      Oct 26, 2011 @ 18:56:49

      Brian, your appreciation of my words and your thoughtful comments bring tears to my eyes. I can’t quite believe, having wanted to “be a poet” since I was five or six years old, that the words I string together actually resonate with others — especially in the hearts and minds of poets whom I admire. It’s been a long journey that took an unexpected twist, but how glad am I that I took this tanka/haiku road! Thank you my friend, your words are a gift that I will treasure.

      Claire

      Reply

  2. Kay Tracy
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 22:51:04

    Isn’t everything better after a good meal of spaghetti?? Beautiful, all of these. I’m embarrassed to say that I just found your note to me from September, Claire. I finally responded, but how would you ever know? I’m not used to having many comments, and seldom go back later. Thank you for taking the time to write!

    I’m truly honored. 🙂
    ~Kay

    Reply

    • Claire
      Oct 27, 2011 @ 08:59:46

      Kay,
      Thank you. It’s my pleasure. I’m only glad that I finally got round to connecting like this, through our blogs etc. It makes the world seem a whole lot smaller in these dark autumn days.

      Your words are treasured.

      Claire

      Reply

Leave a Reply

