butterfly dust

 

 

and when my thoughts
have followed the rosewood grain
of sunset
swirling dark from the eaves
pipistrelles

~

I rest my mind
with the world
there
in the stillness
of the heron’s raised foot

 

Notes from the Gean, volume 3, issue  2. autumn 2011

 

butterfly dust…

the question I never

dared to ask

~

thunderhead

the buzzard’s eye

fills with sky

 

Acorn, no. 27  Fall 2011

 

I was delighted to have some poems included in Margaret Dornaus’ recent Day of the Dead post on her lovely haiku and tanka blog, Haiku-doodle . a moving tribute and collage of memories. Thank you, Margaret.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kirsten Cliff - Swimming in Lines of Haiku
    Nov 05, 2011 @ 21:18:43

    My favourite here is ‘butterfly dust’. Exquisite poetry, Claire. And thank you for sharing here, otherwise I wouldn’t have seen your haiku from the pages of Acorn!

    Reply

    • Claire
      Nov 06, 2011 @ 11:54:58

      Thanks Kirsten, your words mean so much. Lovely to have a newly wed finding the time to read and comment on my poetry 😉

      ((hugs))

      Claire

      Reply

  2. Margaret Dornaus
    Nov 06, 2011 @ 03:54:23

    Thank you, Claire. I feel so privileged to have your voice on my recent post . . .

    I love these poems as well. Especially “thunderhead” . . . what a great image! I just subscribed to Acorn. Can’t wait to sit down with it for a nice long read.

    Best, Margaret

    Reply

    • Claire
      Nov 06, 2011 @ 11:53:14

      Thanks, Margaret. It was my pleasure…and yes, Acorn is a fantastic journal, great haiku cover to cover and I feel privileged to be included. I love what you did in your blog post and find it so inspiring the way many poets are coming together like this.

      All Best,
      Claire

      Reply

  3. Brian
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 06:38:04

    there
    in the stillness
    of the heron’s raised foot

    Wondrous stillness in this image. It brings me peace. Thank you, Claire.

    Reply

    • Claire
      Nov 07, 2011 @ 10:13:41

      Thank you, Brian. I find such peace myself, watching a heron or an egret through a scope, it’s as if the world beyond has ceased to exist. Such intensely primitive beauty. They leave me in awe.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

