fading light

 


fading light…

pink-footed geese wade

into the sun

 

The Heron’s Nest, volume 13, number 4, December 2011

 

a straggler

on the winding path…

wild honeysuckle

 

~

childhood memories –

pointing out the cuckoo-spit

on mother’s roses

~

 

lambs in the shade

of the twisted oak –

your many faces

 

A Hundred Gourds

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brian
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 04:29:32

    “A feast of fat things”. This is the deep attraction of haiku for me, image-monger that I am. I feel I am following those webbed feet into the sun, sitting among the mirroring faces of lambs, trailing “stragglers”, moving among your mother’s last roses and my late survivors.

    I now know it is you who are the disembodied chanticleer under my solitary elm. And look! You have brought me the snow all winter-born babies love! Will you not not also appear under that same linden, crowned with a wreath of holly lit by candles on the darkest night of the year? I will be watching.

    Beautiful poems.

    Reply

    • Claire
      Dec 07, 2011 @ 11:04:38

      Brian,
      Every one of your comments is pure poetry! A chanticleer. Oh, the synchronicities abound! (if you could see some of my recent poems…and in time, you will)

      such songs as these
      when silence pricks up her ears
      from a lyre-moon
      a ballad of snowflakes
      plucked for the hoof-heart tread

      For Brian, with love and thanks

      Reply

Leave a Reply

