new year dawn

tongue to tail-tip

the shape of slate-blue distance

New Year dawn

shifting jade from scale to scale…

there are dragons in these hills

 

at the mercy

of another year…

glad to be the damsel

if you’re the one who’ll wrest me

from the dragon’s jaws

 

Year of the Dragon,  Eucalypt challenge #11, 2012

It may not officially be Chinese New Year, but this seemed a fitting place to wish you all a Happy New Year and share with you some poetry and some news.

I was delighted to be invited by Marie Marshall, editor of  The Zen Space, to submit some tanka and haiku for the winter showcase. This is a lovely new website, with lots of potential and I’m honoured to  be included. As a taster, here’s one of my poems:

 

now and then
between each breath
the sound
of a snowflake
upon the stream

Please follow the link above to take part in this new experience.

 

It’s been a very hectic few weeks for the family as many of you know and I’m also getting into my stride with two editorial roles, but I was delighted to have three pieces (two haibun and a tanka prose) appear in the January 2012 issue of Contemporary Haibun Online. I’d also like to remind those of you who may be interested, that Haibun Today is currently open to submissions of tanka prose and haibun for its March 2012 issue.

I’m also delighted to share the news of the birth of another short form poetry journal, Multiverses. I’m thrilled to see my good friend (and first mentor!) Paul Smith, taking on the role of tanka editor and I wish him, Melissa, Alexis, John and Johannes – all of whom I’ve come to know through our old friend Twitter – the best of luck with this exciting new venture!

So it just remains for me to say thank you to all who took the time to read my poetry in 2011. I hope that you will be here with me in the months to come.

 

as if

the song thrush knows…

new year dawn

 

Claire

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kirigirisu
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 15:12:11

    I can’t think of a better place to be than here in the months ahead, Claire.

    shifting jade from scale to scale…
    there are dragons in these hills

    Amazing lines.

    I think I speak for all of your readers when I say that you have our permission to engage your new editorial duties just so long as they do not compromise your own writing. You cannot staunch the flow of your generous gifts for your own sake nor can you let us go thirsty.

    Happy 2012.

    Brian

    Reply

    • Claire
      Jan 04, 2012 @ 20:06:43

      Brian,
      You have the uncanny knack of rendering me speechless, my friend. I am humbled by your comments and look forward to walking this path with you in the months — hopefully, years — to come. Thank you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

