taking hold

 

 

 

 

passing sun

what of me is flame

taking hold

and what of me is timeless

like this rock, briefly warm?

 

~

 

heat shimmer

cow parsley at my fingertips…

twitching lace

and crocheted chair-backs

every lane leads to Grandma

 

~

 

Mokichi Saito meditation:

 

from the tip

of the breeze-brushed fir

red sumi-e

a robin’s calligraphy

this roll of kinwashi sky

 

my three tanka published in red lights, volume 8, number 1, January 2012

~

An exquisite journal, edited by Marilyn Hazelton:

red lights

where tradition

and innovation

meet

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kirigirisu/Brian
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 15:31:40

    All exquisite, Claire. That first poem knocked me off my feet the first time I encountered it. “Red Lights” is a wonderful journal. Took me way too long to subscribe to it. I hope others will read your poems and not make my mistake.

    Reply

    • Claire
      Feb 14, 2012 @ 12:18:54

      Brian,
      Thank you, my friend…red lights is one of my favourite journals. I have Paul Smith to thank for introducing me, otherwise, I too, may have continued to miss this gem.

      Reply

  2. Margaret Dornaus
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 19:53:42

    I love the first one especially, Claire. Although what a line: “a robin’s calligraphy” . . . . Beautiful!

    Reply

    • Claire
      Feb 14, 2012 @ 12:20:44

      Margaret, you’re too kind…I just can’t write enough poems about robins! Not sure how similar ours are to the American robin, but our little guy has a voice like silver windchimes.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

