Darling Buds

 

far-reaching roots…
does the oak in autumn
ponder the sky?

Warm water and cotton wool, lint, gauze and calico. With the same gentleness with which he dressed the gash in my knee, my father answered my questions, one by one.

“Who am I? Why am I me?”

“Why is the oak an oak, the willow a willow?  You have your place on this earth and you will know all seasons. Little birds will come to sing in the branches of your heart and the sun will fill your veins…”

His words became a mantra for my four year old self and for that, every tree became my friend, a companion on the journey. I would make my apology for stepping on exposed roots and the trees would bend low, whispering secrets of the sky. Grandma and Grandad, fragile and pale, had each succumbed to the tug of the breeze to make way for new buds, like me.

But you said nothing, Dad, about the cold winds that come to take a leaf before its time, almost as if you sensed you would not be here for my blossoming.

windfalls…
at the core of sweetness
the wasp’s song

 

Simply Haiku, autumn/winter 2011

 

for my father, Eric James Price  (8th April 1930 – 12th January 1981)

Happy Birthday, Dad.

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 22:35:31

    Claire Everett, a name I won’t forget because of your exceptional poetic talent. You are one of those haijins who knows how to grasp an ember without being burnt. I would like to invite you to join the monthly kukai challenge by sending up to 3 haiku about sparrow/s. Details in my blog:
    http://rita-odeh.blogspot.com

    ~Rita

    Reply

    • Claire
      Apr 09, 2012 @ 09:15:47

      Thank you, Rita. That is very kind of you to say. And thank you for the invitation. I’ll see what I can do 😉 I’m also going to enjoy spending some time over at your blog. Nice to meet you!

      Reply

  2. Margaret Dornaus
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 16:29:14

    So tender and poignant . . . A beautiful tribute, Claire.

    Reply

  3. Beth
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 13:26:20

    Your Dad taught you well Clare 🙂

    Reply

    • Claire
      Apr 18, 2012 @ 20:31:13

      Thank you, Beth. He did. Never quite find the right words to express what he meant to me, but I’m not going to stop trying!

      Reply

  4. awoodlandrose
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 22:26:52

    Sweet and tender. Reminds me of my Dad. Love is very rich and lasting. Andrea

    Reply

    • Claire
      Apr 18, 2012 @ 20:29:58

      Thank you, Andrea. it was my first attempt at haibun and I’m finding the older I get the more Dad appears in my work. Having lost him the day before my 16th birthday, it’s been quite a journey, but Amy, with her love of nature and artistic talents, is a constant reminder. He’s still here 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

