tracelessness

Words are inadequate and I have little to add to the tributes that have flooded in for Hortensia Anderson. I offer two haiga in her memory and in gratitude for the beauty of her life and her poetry. The first is a collaboration between myself and my artist son, Owen. It’s a few months old, but it pretty much describes how I feel now that we have lost another fine poet. The second was my response to three consecutive prompts by Sheila Windsor, the current NaHaiWriMo prompter: ‘open’, ‘ink’ and ‘Hortensia’. I thank my daughter Amy for drawing the swift for me.

~

~

~

and in Hortensia’s own words:

I hold a slice
of freshly cut maple,
wondering
whether to lacquer the wood
or burn it to tracelessness

hortensia anderson
(Ribbons Tanka Cafe Winter 2011)

~

She will be greatly missed, but she has left us much to cherish.

A small sample of her work:

Contemporary Haibun Online

Haibun Today

The Plenitude of Emptiness

 The Plenitude of Emptiness (Hortensia Anderson blogspot)

***

May eternal peace be yours, Hortensia…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leslie Ihde
    May 23, 2012 @ 21:18:01

    Claire, the haiga you posted for Hortensia is very beautiful. Reading them gave me a little shudder of stillness and understanding. I never knew Hortensia, but I admire her poetry. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

    • Claire
      May 24, 2012 @ 07:16:03

      Leslie, thank you. I only knew Hortensia through her poetry and chats and comments on Facebook, but that was more than enough…she wrote like an angel and inspired so many. A poet’s poet.

      Reply

  2. pamela a. babusci
    May 23, 2012 @ 21:36:09

    beautiful tribute for hortensia, claire!
    she will be greatly missed!!

    Reply

    • Claire
      May 24, 2012 @ 07:18:11

      Thank you, Pamela. I can’t imagine how her loved ones must be feeling. She will be flying now in the next life, or unfolding her water lily light.

      Reply

  3. Margaret Dornaus
    May 26, 2012 @ 17:17:02

    Lovely tributes, Claire . . . Particularly touched by “endless sky” . . . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

