in from the rain

 

the life I swore

would never again disarm me

comes in from the rain . . .

the cat by the fire

washing her face

~

long I have walked

under clouded skies

now Venus

is at every turn

and all roads lead to you

~

a rack of clothes

all monochrome . . .

like a woman

with nothing to wear

winter throws on another day

~

my lover’s voice

washing over me . . .

since I found haiku

I pay attention

to everything

 

~

 

A Hundred Gourds, 1:3 June 2012

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kay
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 13:53:57

    These are great, Claire. I especially love the third tanka. What a proper description of winter! I hope that it is summer for you now. ~Kay

    Reply

    • Claire
      Jun 11, 2012 @ 18:49:26

      Thanks, Kay! Well, just over a week til Solstice and it’s decidedly chilly with storms and flooding forecast. I think we had summer one week in March 😉 How about you?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

