A Point in Space

Why should I feel lonely? is not our planet in the Milky Way? This which you put seems to me not to be the most important question. What sort of space is that which separates a man from his fellows and makes him solitary? I have found that no exertion of the legs can bring two minds much nearer to one another.

—H. D. Thoreau, from Walden, Chapter 5, “Solitude”

Alone, but not lonely. Lonely, yet not alone.

Arcturus–
the finer points of
loneliness
                                  
Two minds can rattle around in one small house and barely meet, yet others can reach across oceans. Myriad worlds revolve in the palm of my hand. Ah, the views from my desktop!

your turning leaves
my cherry blossoms …
one moon

In the space of an hour, I have watched a day come and go, shaking the Tararua ranges from its cleats; in Colorado I’ve followed the she-lion’s tracks in the snow, down the southern bank of Crystal Falls and felt my nape hairs rise; I’ve learned that loneliness might take the shape of a bittern’s shadow and as wind it can whittle these bones to reeds.

winter stars …
emails from a dead friend
still in my inbox
*  *  *
Multiverses 1:1 , June 2012
Leave a Reply

