first harvest

~

throwing wide

the backyard gate…

Nag Champa

on the altar-stone,

beneath the moorland sky
~
In celebrating Lammas I thought I’d share some of my responses to Kathabela Wilson’s wonderful  July NaHaiWriMo prompts.  Kathabela has also (tentatively) started daily prompts on her Tanka Poets on Site Facebook page. (The tanka above is my response to ‘outdoor space’)
With love and thanks to Mother Earth, my loved ones and all who walk this path with me.
Claire
8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kris Lindbeck (@KrisLindbeck)
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 23:43:25

    Hi Claire,

    I’m writing an on-line essay about some of my favorite haiku blogs. May I describe your blog with a the link and print 2-3 of your poems and perhaps one haiga?

    Thank you!

    Kris

    Reply

    • Claire
      Aug 02, 2012 @ 19:18:37

      Kris, how are you?! I’m sorry I don’t get on to Twitter much these days…what with editing and writing (also collaboratively with Autumn) I don’t get much time…
      Of course you may. I’d consider it an honour to be included. Thank you!

      Reply

      • Kris Lindbeck (@KrisLindbeck)
        Aug 02, 2012 @ 21:36:03

        Wonderful, Claire! Though we miss you on Twitter, I know how busy you are . . . and I do follow you with google blogger, whenever I get a chance. Are your comments section the best place to alert you when I am done?
        Kris

      • Claire
        Aug 03, 2012 @ 20:05:24

        Yes, Kris, that would be great. Thanks so much!

        Claire

      • Kris Lindbeck (@KrisLindbeck)
        Aug 04, 2012 @ 22:29:44

        Hi Claire, the essay is live at http://krisl.hubpages.com/hub/Some-Great-Haiku-Blogs I hope you enjoy it. If what I write about you seems too personal, I can change that if you like.
        I hope you appreciate my “maiden” and “mother” reference. I was thinking of the the Mother, Maiden, and Crone.

      • Claire
        Aug 05, 2012 @ 20:48:44

        Kris,

        I’m honoured to be included in your write-up and touched by your description of my work and all that inspires me to write. I’ll be eternally grateful to the Twitter community of poets who first nurtured me and gave me the courage to keep writing! I loved the Maiden/Mother reference (although some days I feel more like the Crone!) You might enjoy this sequence Autumn and I wrote, published in Lynx:

        MOTHER MAIDEN CRONE
        Autumn Noelle Hall
        Claire Everett

        the waxing moon
        a sickle in the eye
        of the lake
        Her waters undisturbed
        by its curved silver blade

        a glimpse of Her
        on the heels of dawn…
        the Huntress
        with her deerskin quiver
        of fast-fading stars

        the brush of footsteps—
        trails through dew-laden meade
        beckon
        the lure of honey-scented air
        following in Her wake

        scent of clover
        even as we drink
        She fills the cup. . .
        our days but travel-stain
        on the broodcomb

        blossoms breath
        waxed against this wintering,
        the sweets of youth
        as the moon grows gibbous
        Hebe’s pitcher ever full

        round in Her belly
        pollen on Her fingers. . .
        summer’s sweet voice
        humming apples
        into the tree

        woodland voles,
        their borrowed burrows
        between its roots,
        clock the season
        in velvet pups

        where foxgloves spill
        their thimbles of dew
        in hip-high grasses
        the doe licks clean
        two speckled fawns

        and you, Milady,
        courted by Common Blue
        butterflies,
        weave a crown of clover
        for your bonny child’s hair

        these wings of light
        with their dark undersides
        and darker shadows…
        where now, the Gatekeeper
        with her keys to the meadow?

        She has flown
        with thistledown
        from the heath
        lost to these swirling mists
        and the full moon’s wane

        between fingers
        soft, Her hair’s fading hue
        goldfinch song
        where teasels comb the breeze
        gossamer, burnished, gone

        rowan berries
        now wrinkled and dried
        clinging to the branch
        one last taste of magic
        for this crested waxwing pair

        leaf-fall light
        red and gold on the roe rings
        where the doe traced
        a path of infinity
        her mate on her heels

        at dusk, She travels
        dim-lit path by memory,
        wit and walking stick
        called by the throaty summons
        of a patient Great Horned Owl

        last sliver
        still, the call to hunt
        in the wild cat’s eyes…
        at dawn, the lure of earthshine
        as Her tracks become snow

        It was actually me who drew the sunflower! I’m delighted that you might mistake it for one of Amy’s 🙂 She just won 2nd prize in a National Art competition in the 13-18 year old category. I’m starting to draw the odd picture for the haiga I create for fun. It’s been a while since I did art myself — Owen and Amy have far surpassed any skills I might have passed on to them 🙂

        Thanks again, Kris.

  2. kashpoet
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 01:07:41

    Love all these excellent haiku and the tanka!

    Reply

    • Claire
      Aug 02, 2012 @ 19:19:28

      Kash, thank you so much for following and taking the time to comment. i’m enjoying your haiku, too 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

