the worn step

Two weeks of Tanka Poets on Site prompts.

~

no wings today
for this blue-sky mind . . .
all I can see
is that one stray thread
of gossamer

~

sun and rain-ripened
gold on the threshing stone
breath in my hands
when dawn is sweet with tanka…
come, share this bread with me

~

the Severn
and its tributaries
I retrace the route
blue veins at my wrist
my riverboat to childhood

~

tea rose
brushing my cheek, my lips,
my throat’s blush
I’m on tiptoes again
at the edge of love

~

silver imprints
the memory of your necklace
against my skin…
no catch can keep these swallows
at the throat of summer

~

a new page
in the magic painting book . . .
with rain on her brush
she unveils the colours
of the robin’s morning song

~

why these tears
when we have never met?
in darkness
I don’t need to touch the rose
to know what’s in its heart

~

your sharp tongue
then your cold shoulder…
the oak tree holds me
to her birdsong heart,
lifts me to the sky

~

waking
to your heartbeat . . .
the heathered hills
still pillowing
the cheek of dawn

~

your smile
on a jasmine breeze
the click of the gate,
the worn step…
my heart’s homecoming

~

these words
light-years in the making
bloom on my lips
touch down
on your mist-veiled skies

~

midwinter sun . . .
wrapped up in a new red coat
running down the hill
to meet me
the child I used to be

~

when the work is done
day lilies crushed
in ice cream . . .
the taste of summer
on your skin

~

all the love letters
you never wrote…
my lips on your neck
where my name was inked
skin-deep

~

digging deep
in the pockets of my dreams…
in the broken barn
the wattle and daub
of the swallows’ nest

Aside

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robert
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 21:46:05

    These are wonderful – especially Midwinter Sun, Your Smile and Waking.
    Robert

    Reply

Leave a Reply

