wing-walking

a selection of Tanka Poets on Site prompts:

~

leaf by yellow leaf

the squirrel lines its drey …

she has gone

to gather kindling,

the child I used to be

~

a sycamore seed

in the wings of autumn

waiting for the breath

that is my cue

to dance

~

green

is the scent of summer. . .

not yet five

the pod in my hand

plump with peas

~

I plot a course

between the brightest stars,

a Viking maid

sailing the simmer dim . . .

this first breath of salt-air

~

 

flurries of starlings

with winter on their wings

the poetry

of homemade seedcake

in my daughter’s hands

~

through rust-stained dreams

rain’s syncopated rhythm

since your words

made a tin roof

of my heart

~

they call him a weed

and suddenly he sees

only dandelions

sun-rayed, or drifting by

their heads in the clouds

~

rock to rin gong

how far from there to here?

copper is my hair

in the morning light

and your touch is my song

~

barnstorming

a loop-the-loop of stars

one last barrel roll

before the dream has me

wing walking on a new day

~

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robert
    Nov 10, 2012 @ 09:48:37

    Wonderful poetry – especially I plot a course, flurries of starlings and barnstorming.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

